“Sand and Snow” Sensory ABC Search

DSC04543

My original plan was to do a cornmeal ABC sensory activity, but when I realized that I didn’t have any cornmeal I improvised with cracker crumbs. It really looked like sand when I put them in the plastic container. I added in some small colorful ABC magnet letters. Love Bug was upset because there wasn’t enough “sand” to completely cover the letters, so I improvised again and added in some cornstarch, which looked like snow.

The powdery cornstarch actually mixed up really well with the cracker crumbs so that it was a thicker consistency. The boys had a lot of fun searching for letters….and then covering themselves and each other in the snow/sand. Somehow it managed to stay in the container and on them without getting all over the floor or even on the blanket that we had beneath the container!

So it ended up being not too messy, though it did require a bath afterwards.

About Kelly

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two boys and a girl. My Love Bug is 4 and has been doing art projects since just after turning 2. My Sweet Pea is 2 and tries to do everything his brother does. Little Flower is 4 months and has no idea of all the fun she has ahead of her.
This entry was posted in ABCs and 123s, Letters, Sensory. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

