Creative Exploration Art

I had a whole list of project ideas that sounded really fun to me but were of no interest to Love Bug, so he informed me he was going to do his own project. He went to our project closet, where we have three plastic containers full of different supplies, and started choosing what he wanted. Usually that means googly eyes and glitter, but this time he found some new things – a glue stick, beads, yarn, popsicle sticks, and a couple cotton balls.

I called this “creative exploration” because the boys started exploring all our different art supplies and figuring out what to do with them. They were making their own creations and just having fun with the different items.

DSC03732

I had no idea what they were going to end up with (and I don’t think they did either), but that was really fun.

Sometimes it’s fun to do a planned project because I know it can turn out really great, and sometimes those are easier, too, because they involve a controlled amount of art supplies being taken out. But doing things like this is also great because I love giving them the opportunity to make their own choices about what the project will be and having full control over the outcome. I love that Sweet Pea grabbed some of the same supplies that Love Bug was using but then did his own variation on it instead of just totally copying his big brother. I also love that Love Bug is wearing a backwards bike helmet in the picture.

About Kelly

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two boys and a girl. My Love Bug is 4 and has been doing art projects since just after turning 2. My Sweet Pea is 2 and tries to do everything his brother does. Little Flower is 4 months and has no idea of all the fun she has ahead of her.
This entry was posted in Painting, Etc.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

