Autumn Leaf Painting

As I’ve already posted, I love fall projects and anything with painting leaves on trees. I think it’s something about the fall colors, and there are so many different fun ideas.

Two of our newest leaf projects were cork-painted leaves and paper towel roll leaves.

First, our cork-painted leaves. I set up a cupcake tray with fall leaf-colored paint in different cups and put a cork in each one. (One set of colors and corks for each boy.)

DSC03397

Both boys do really well when I set up a project like this. It’s very clear to them that my idea is for them to use a different cork for each paint and to print with them. With other set ups, like just putting paint out on a newspaper and giving them brushes, my idea isn’t as obvious to them or they just want to do their own thing. (That’s fine with me, too, because I don’t want to force them to do things my way and hinder their creativity, but it’s also nice to be able to do the process that I have in mind!)

DSC03401 DSC03400

They printed the “leaves” onto papers with trees drawn on them.

DSC03405

Love Bug also drew grass on his. They both wanted to have leaves that had fallen off the trees, and Love Bug also said he wanted to have some that were in the process of falling.

Our second project used a similar set up with paint in the cupcake tray. Instead of corks, we used cut pieces of paper towel rolls.

DSC03404Again, they printed onto papers with trees drawn on them. And again Love Bug drew some grass.

DSC03406

The finished products:

DSC03407

About Kelly

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two boys and a girl. My Love Bug is 4 and has been doing art projects since just after turning 2. My Sweet Pea is 2 and tries to do everything his brother does. Little Flower is 4 months and has no idea of all the fun she has ahead of her.
This entry was posted in Fall, Holidays and Seasons, Painting, Etc.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

