Organizing Artwork

Love Bug has been doing art projects for a little over two years now, so we’ve accumulated quite a bit of artwork! Even though we sometimes go weeks without doing any, there will also be days where we do two projects or where one craft produces three or four papers. I take pictures of all the projects we do (other than when he’s just drawing with markers or something like that), so I didn’t feel like I had to save everything we’ve done. But still there are a lot of really cool ones, and I wanted to make sure to keep a good amount of them.

For the longest time, I’ve just been stashing them inside an old shoebox from a pair of tall boots. Even after weeding out some of the old ones, it was still overflowing and I had no real idea for how to organize them.

Finally I found a really sweet idea from Sheryl at Teaching 2 and 3 Year Olds. At the start of the year she creates a binder for each of her students, and she collects all their art throughout the year and gives it to the parents at the end of the year.

So I got a binder for each of the boys and took a bunch of the plastic protective sheets to cover them – mostly so that I didn’t have to punch holes in the papers themselves.

DSC02604

The only hassle here was that a lot of the paper we use is wider than the plastic sheets, so I had to do a little bit of trimming.

But now that it’s done, I’m so happy with it. All of their artwork organized in one place, and it’s easy to flip through to see what they’ve done. After finishing a project, I generally make a point to put the date and what the project was on the back, so it’s chronological, too.

DSC02605 DSC02606

I love them!

About Kelly

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two boys and a girl. My Love Bug is 4 and has been doing art projects since just after turning 2. My Sweet Pea is 2 and tries to do everything his brother does. Little Flower is 4 months and has no idea of all the fun she has ahead of her.
This entry was posted in Painting, Etc.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

