Van Gogh-Inspired Painting

This might be one of my all-time favorite projects.

And I kind of want to make one myself.

I found it at Happy Hooligans, and it looked so awesome but so surprisingly simple at the same time. It was definitely both of those things.

I love the idea of doing projects in the styles of famous artists, and this project was inspired by Van Gogh’s Starry Night.

Here’s how we did it.

First, I wrapped foil around two pieces of cardboard (the front and backs of a cracker box). Then I put out some paint: purple, white, three shades of blue, and a small amount of yellow. (The site where I found it also used black, but we didn’t have any.) The boys painted over the foil.

DSC01239

I was hoping they’d cover the whole piece, but neither of them did. At this point, I liked Sweet Pea’s better. It looked really cool the way he’d added several layers of paint on top of each other (because he kept painting in the same area instead of spreading out), and it gave it a really cool effect.

DSC01240

It’s fun to see how two kids do something that’s so similar and yet so different! I showed them to my husband and had him guess who made each one, and he was really surprised that Sweet Pea’s was the top one.

After letting them dry overnight, we grated some crayons (the same colors as the paint).

DSC01246

Then they sprinkled the shavings over the paintings.

DSC01257

Then, to melt the wax, we popped them into the oven on a tray for 5 minutes at 200 degrees. (Sweet Pea’s is on the left.)

DSC01259

The result was awesome.

Sweet Pea’s:

DSC01262

And Love Bug’s:

DSC01264

They’re actually a little darker than they show up in the picture (especially Sweet Pea’s – I had a hard time getting the lighting right for that one, so the picture doesn’t quite do it justice. They’re also more textured than they look in the photo.)

I ended up liking Love Bug’s more in the end, but they’re both really fun. His reminded me of a tree, though he said it was like water with green mud. Sweet Pea’s made me think of a peacock.

About Kelly

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two boys and a girl. My Love Bug is 4 and has been doing art projects since just after turning 2. My Sweet Pea is 2 and tries to do everything his brother does. Little Flower is 4 months and has no idea of all the fun she has ahead of her.
This entry was posted in Painting, Etc.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

