Sight Words, Part Two

Love Bug and I have been working on some activities to help him learn to recognize some words. We’re using 40 preschool-age sight words in a variety of different games.

Here are three of our recent activities:

1. Sight Word Train

Trains are very big in our house right now. Anything Thomas-related is a big hit. So I knew Love Bug would enjoy making a train with our words. I printed out some train car templates, and we worked together to glue a different word on each car. Then we stapled them together and hung it up in our playroom.

2. Charting by Letter

I  made a large chart with a different letter in each square, and then Love Bug glued each of the 40 sight words into the square where they belonged by the letter they start with.

DSC01352

I thought he’d get tired of this after a while and that we’d only do maybe half of the words at one time, but we actually did them all at once.

3. Scrabble Tile Word Building (an idea I found here)

DSC01361

I made two sheets listing all the three-letter sight words (and two with four letters for a little more of a challenge) with that number of squares beside it. Then we used Scrabble tiles to fill in the squares with the right letters to make the words again. I love this idea!

About Kelly

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two boys and a girl. My Love Bug is 4 and has been doing art projects since just after turning 2. My Sweet Pea is 2 and tries to do everything his brother does. Little Flower is 4 months and has no idea of all the fun she has ahead of her.
This entry was posted in ABCs and 123s, Letters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

