Pendulum Painting

Coolest. Project. Ever.

Also could be considered: projects that’d probably be great to do outdoors instead, things you probably shouldn’t do the day AFTER mopping your kitchen floor, or products we don’t let Daddy witness while we’re in action.

We started setting this up the first week of September. I finally finished it this week after months of having an almost completed PVC pipe contraption sitting in the garage. I originally found this from http://www.thechildrensartgroup.com, but that site doesn’t seem to exist any more.

We connected the PVC pipes, attached a ring to it, and then I hung down a string and attached a bottle to it with a rubber band.

DSC01030

I put slightly watered down tempera paints in ketchup and mustard-style bottles. I just had to hold it up once I wrapped the rubber band around it so it didn’t all start to drip out. Then Love Bug gave the bottle a push, and as it swung around like a pendulum, the paint went all over in the coolest designs. (And by all over, I mean a little furthest past the paper than I’d been hoping for.)

DSC01032

We did two of these and used red, blue, and yellow in a different order on each. I also tried to have him stand in different spots for each color so that the bottles would swing differently and the colors would land on different areas of the paper.

DSC01036

The finished products are awesome:

DSC01037 DSC01038

I love how the colors blended together in the middle and how it looks totally different here than on the edges where it’s more dotted.

DSC01039

Posing with his paintings:

DSC01044

He had so much fun and didn’t want to stop.

About Kelly

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two boys and a girl. My Love Bug is 4 and has been doing art projects since just after turning 2. My Sweet Pea is 2 and tries to do everything his brother does. Little Flower is 4 months and has no idea of all the fun she has ahead of her.
This entry was posted in Painting, Etc.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

