Rock Hunt and Painting

I got the idea for rock painting from Fantastic Fun and Learning, but before we did it, we did a rock scavenger hunt. We walked down the street with a bucket collecting rocks. Love Bug was very specific about the ones he wanted and told me that some were too big and that he only wanted small ones. They actually did end up being the best to paint with, too.

What we did for the painting project was draped a large sheet of paper over a chair so that it sloped down. I cut up an old diaper box (I keep tons of these in my garage because I never know when I’ll need a box or cardboard) and set it at the bottom to catch the painted rocks. I put a few big globs of paint at the top of the paper, and then we rolled the rocks through the paint and down the paper.

DSC08803

I thought I got a lot more photos, but I only ended up with one. I guess I was too busy trying to keep Sweet Pea from putting the paint-covered rocks in his mouth. He was also enjoying just picking up rocks and throwing them at the bottom where they landed (without getting them in paint first).

Finished product:

DSC08805

About Kelly

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two boys and a girl. My Love Bug is 4 and has been doing art projects since just after turning 2. My Sweet Pea is 2 and tries to do everything his brother does. Little Flower is 4 months and has no idea of all the fun she has ahead of her.
This entry was posted in Painting, Etc.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

