Sensory Ideas

A lot of the kids’ art blogs I follow have a lot of info about sensory bins. That’s not something we’ve ever really gotten into very much, but now that Sweet Pea is getting to the age where he can get involved a little more, I’ve been trying to do some sensory activities with him.

The easiest things have been ribbon and fabric scraps. We’ve also been spending a lot of time outside lately since we finally have amazing spring weather (in fact, I’m writing this outside on my deck with the sun setting in front of me, the wind blowing my notebook pages, and a big bee buzzing around me), and there are just a ton of things in nature that Sweet Pea has gotten into – grass, dirt, bushes, etc. Unfortunately he’s also been really interested in trying to eat some of them (grass and dirt).

Another fun sensory and fine motor project we did was with egg shells. I’d washed and saved the shell halves from 5-10 eggs, put them in a bin, and gave the boys spoons, forks, and bowls to play with. I love this kind of activity because I never know what Love Bug will end up doing with it. He started by putting together two pieces and telling me he was going to make an egg. Then both boys were spooning them up and throwing them back into the container. Next thing I knew, LB had figured out that if you press it with a fork, you can crack it into tiny pieces.

DSC08083

Another super messy (but surprisingly easy to clean) project that I’d found on Play Create Explore (which has this list of 30 ways to use shaving cream) was shaving cream on the windows. Both of the boys LOVED this. Both of these last two were great because they were able to play together.

DSC08026 DSC08014

We actually do a lot with shaving cream. More shaving cream ideas will be coming soon!

About Kelly

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two boys and a girl. My Love Bug is 4 and has been doing art projects since just after turning 2. My Sweet Pea is 2 and tries to do everything his brother does. Little Flower is 4 months and has no idea of all the fun she has ahead of her.
This entry was posted in Fine Motor, Motor Skills, Sensory. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

