Sensory and Science with Salt

This rainbow salt tray that I found at Learning 4 Kids was so much fun and really easy to do. I cut different colors of construction paper to sizes that would fit in a plastic container and taped them down. Then I put a layer of salt on top and gave Love Bug a straw and a paintbrush to write and draw with.

DSC07852

He had a lot of fun mixing it up and making designs different ways (with both the brush and straw and then of course with his hands, which was an added sensory element). The biggest problem I had was that I didn’t tape the paper down well enough, so a little too much salt ended up getting underneath plus a corner of the yellow paper ended up sticking up. One piece of tape actually came off as he was shaking things around so much. But still it kept him occupied for a while and let him be really creative.

I was a little bothered about wasting so much salt, so I decided to do a little “science” project right afterwards. I put a few ice cubes in a glass and let him spoon some of the salt out and onto the ice.

DSC07856

I was hoping he’d want to mix the ice around and really explore it, but he wasn’t too interested aside from touching it once or twice.  Of course he ended up using his hands for this part, too.

(For more rainbow activities, see tomorrow’s post!)

About Kelly

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two boys and a girl. My Love Bug is 4 and has been doing art projects since just after turning 2. My Sweet Pea is 2 and tries to do everything his brother does. Little Flower is 4 months and has no idea of all the fun she has ahead of her.
This entry was posted in Fine Motor, Motor Skills, Sensory. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

