C is for Cookie (Monster)

Sesame Street is very big in our house. Love Bug’s favorite toys are his little Sesame figures (his “Sessy-mes”). He likes to make them go grocery shopping with Duplo carts. (The carts have to be the same color as the guy using it, and they buy a food that the same color, too!) There are also stuffed Sesame guys (he likes to put them on pillows and  put them to sleep) and Sesame cars.

Over the summer, we met Elmo at the library and did an Elmo craft. Later that day he was walking around with it, and I heard him say, “I love you, Elmo.” So a few months later, when I found a few small blue paper plates in the closet, I knew I had to do the same basic craft with Cookie Monster. I already had the popsicle stick for the handle. I just had to cut out a piece of black construction paper for a mouth and make the eyes. Our library Elmo project used big googly eyes, but since I didn’t have those, I decided to improvise by cutting out my own white and black pieces for eyes. 

Love Bug did all the gluing, and these eyes ended up working out better than googly eyes would have because they’re uneven and look more like Cookie Monster’s silly eyes really do.

DSC06726

All you need for this project: blue paper plate, popsicle stick, black and white construction paper, scissors, and glue

About Kelly

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two boys and a girl. My Love Bug is 4 and has been doing art projects since just after turning 2. My Sweet Pea is 2 and tries to do everything his brother does. Little Flower is 4 months and has no idea of all the fun she has ahead of her.
This entry was posted in Painting, Etc. and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

